Henry’s Suicide

I thought of this the other night while having insomnia. Had to dumb the formatting down for the sake of WordPress, but you get the idea.

Henry’s Suicide

Beard thatched and pitchforked,
wet eyes like a whipped dog’s, when he’d read
he’d be drunk and would take you on his back
flying through dim-lit halls of Chinese
medicine and bulletcases and childhood fear,

along rivers of spawning salmon and pools
of bog filling with light,
circling the Bodhi tree, low comedy
water-slugs chewing roots, the flower raving,
a blue-gray song,
the dodging of dread shapes and mosquito
swarms and TV antennae.

Stopping for a quick nip of frozen
daiquiri at some strip club
or pastor’s house in Roswell or Nairobi,
and upward you’d go,

two souls clasped and silhouetted
in a pinkish backdrop of scallop shell moon,
gliding over transmission tower wires
and watery-bright streets, plunging
the moist plum tree
mist and descending

invariably onto the Washington
Avenue Bridge in Minneapolis
where he’d let you off his back,
clip his wings. Goodbye, sir, & fare well,
he’d say. And leap,
leaving you to wonder,
like genius always does.

2 thoughts on “Henry’s Suicide

  1. This is the first I’ve heard of Berryman – you piqued my interest; I requested a book of his “dream songs” from my library… I was gonna ask about your title, “why Henry when his name is John,” but then I read a little more about him and realized he used H as an alter ego, ah! …& I’m stuck in MN so I should know more about him, so I’m happy to start… Anyway, love what you wrote here and so happy you’re posting more compositions lately – it quenches the soul-thirst like nothing online.

    Like

    • Thank you, Sir. You made a good choice with Dream Songs. I’m sure you’ll like it. He’s got a unique and simple language in it that’s very hard to imitate. I’ve been looking at Edo period Japanese paintings this morning and it kind of reminds me of them. As for his other stuff, I haven’t read anything, but I heard from a reliable source it’s not very good. I think DS was all he had.

      Like

Leave a comment